In the beginning…

Today begins the day where I lay it all on the line and start working on this atrocious debt that I have. It’s going to be a long ride, and hopefully you can help me through it! If this is the first time you have checked out this page, be sure to read the About Me section as it explains in detail the nature of this blog.

First lets get some quick background information out there. I am 22 years old and about to finish college. As you may have read, I am not a financial expert (nor will I ever claim to be), but as is everyone else, I am responsible for my own finances.

I wouldn’t say I am a completely wasteful spender, but I splurge occasionally. I find that the majority of wasteful spending goes to food, but I’m sure we’ll find out regardless.

I drive a Dodge 2002 Stratus, bought used for $7,500 back in 2006. It has about 103,000 miles on it now, and I’m hoping it will last me until I graduate.

I rent for my housing situation as I am still a college student and have no means for obtaining a house anyhow.

I am taking 20 credit hours in school when 12 is considered full time so that I may graduate in a timely manner.

I work 3 days a week as a server and I work for a mobile DJ company on the weekends. If it weren’t for DJ’ing, I have no idea how I would have made it this far.

As always, if you feel there is some important information being left out here, let me know!

Explore posts in the same categories: Background Information

5 Comments on “In the beginning…”


  1. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog. By the way I like how you have taken a responsible attitude to your situation, very mature for a 22 yr old. Well done. Check my other Blogger blog for more tips at http://debtconsolidationfinancing1.blogspot.com

  2. thedebtguy Says:

    Thanks Steven, I went ahead and subscribed to your blog that you linked. Thank you for the compliment as well, I’ve had to grow up pretty fast for my age!


  3. Are you about to graduate? Your car should last you much longer than “until graduation”… I graduated in 2006 and am still driving my first car which is a 1996 Jeep Cherokee with over 130,000 miles on it. A bit of maintenance here and there, but it’s so economical to drive an older car you own (lower insurance, no car payments). Do your preventative maintenance and it’ll be good to you.

    What is your degree in?

    And congratulations on starting this journey! I’m going to be debt-free in March and it’s VERY exciting.

  4. thedebtguy Says:

    I am expected to graduate near August of this year. It’s going to be a real relief to be able to drop classes and solely work (I have a much better work ethic than school ethic). I also wasn’t insinuating that I am going to dump my car after graduating, I will definitely run it into the ground. I am just hoping that it lasts me at least that long.

    My degree is Technological Communications.

    You mentioned you will be debt-free in March, congratulations! I hope to join you soon. If there are any budgeting or saving tips you have for me, please share!!


  5. Congratulations on your graduation! How exciting! And I definitely feel ya on the dropping classes thing… especially writing papers. How is it that I love blogging, but papers in school always seemed so pointless? (Oh, maybe because those are only written for the professors to grade, and blogging actually benefits other people.)

    Good for you, running your car into the ground! Too many people are concerned with driving “something pretty” and pay over and over for it. If it drives and it’s safe, it’s good!

    What does Technological Communications really mean? I don’t know what that major is FOR really… what sort of job do you want to get? (I am really curious.)

    Thanks for your congrats! I am SO excited.

    Budgeting… plan for every dollar, other than a small “allowance” you let yourself spend or save freely (coffee out with friends, a new t-shirt, etc… right now I’m saving mind for an awesome camera). If you don’t have a bit of wiggle room budgeted in, you’ll go crazy.

    And as far as saving/getting out of debt faster, when you get an unexpected (or-semi-expected) windfall that’s not in your normal income plan, put it toward the debt. Immediately. If you want to keep about 5-10% to spend on fun stuff, fine… but then put the rest toward your debt! This could be your tax refund (which hopefully is close to zero, otherwise the government’s been borrowing from you, interest-free, all year), an inheritance, birthday or holiday gift money, income from selling something you don’t use anymore on craigslist, etc…

    Other than that, stick to your plan like white on rice.


Leave a Reply

