2 Easy Steps to Financial Freedom

Today has been a great day on my path to financial freedom.

So far I have not spent a dime. Yesterday, I spent time working on the blog and homework, so money was not spent yesterday either.

I have taken the following 2 easy steps today to save some money:

  1. Packed Lunch – I take a 2 hour break in between classes for lunch. I take the time to eat, do homework, work on the blog, map out my finances, etc. Today is the first day in a long time that I packed my lunch. I brought a banana, an apple (grannysmith is the only way to go, those are the green ones by the way), and 2 peanut butter jelly sandwhiches (a childhood favorite), and a flavored water. I put the sandwhiches in a hard tupperware container so they didnt get smushed. Normally I spend about $7-$10 on lunch, so that was a little bit saved today. I only have these lunch gaps on Mondays and Wednesdays, so it’s a pretty minor change that can save me anywhere from $14-$20 a week!
  2. Hats and Gloves – I hate wearing a winter hat and usually don’t like driving with gloves. I decided to suck it up and wear both the entire ride to school today so that the heat was not blaring as it usually is. I have no idea how much it saved to conserve heating my car, but I figure since I drive to school 5 days a week, this could potentially save quite a bit of money. Maybe I will save up a few bucks and buy some nicer gloves…

Thus far, I have not spent any money yesterday. Today is looking pretty promising as well.

I also signed up at Quicken Online to begin managing my finances. It’s the first time that I’m really going to spend time with it and I will soon report on how it works for me.

Explore posts in the same categories: 1

2 Comments on “2 Easy Steps to Financial Freedom”


  1. Sounds great! I use mint.com to track my finances online. Haven’t looked at quicken online though!

    Packing a lunch is definitely something super-easy you can do, you’re right! And 20ish dollars a week = over a thousand in a year! That’s not chump change! In college I never ever went anywhere without at least a bag of trail mix and a bottle of water with me. That way I wasn’t tempted to spend on vending machine snacks or drinks either.

    PS Those hard tupperware containers will also save you money on ziploc bags (those things add up!)

  2. mmarquit Says:

    Good job on going through the day without expenses. And, I agree that packing a lunch is one of the best ways to save a great deal of money over a long period of time.


Leave a Reply

