How To Take The First Step to Debt Freedom

So when I decided to become debt free, I started searching around the web. I decided that since I had accrued debt, I was obviously not a great saver. Since everyone in the world has a blog, I figured I could find some information on how to save money from regular people that live normal lives and would save in a similar fashion that I can.

You can argue that starting a budget is the first step to freedom, and I wouldn’t disagree. I could argue however that a behavioral change needs to take place, and that would be to practice frugality. Frugality is normally shunned in our society, but given the current economic status, is making a great comeback.

As I began digging into the world of frugality, I have read more than once that it requires small steps so that you don’t become overwhelmed. Here is the first step to your journey to frugality – ask yourself why.

Simple Dollar has an article about a man and his 2 year old son. He is old enough now to question the world around him and continuously asks his father why. It has made him start thinking ahead of why he is doing something so that she may be a good role model for his son.

It makes a lot of sense. Ask yourself why the next time you are about to make a purchase. Here’s a few why’s that I have been asking myself:

  • Why do I purchase name brands?
  • Why do I go out to eat?
  • Why do I go to the movies instead of renting them?
  • Why do I buy a book when I have a library card?
  • Why do I not use coupons when they are directly mailed to me?
  • Why do I pay more for heat instead of throwing on a sweater?

You get the idea. Take a few seconds to starting questioning yourself. You may find the answers you provide aren’t very good ones.

Explore posts in the same categories: 1

One Comment on “How To Take The First Step to Debt Freedom”

  1. Miranda Says:

    I like the idea of asking “why”. It really puts things into perspective, and helps you get down to the reasons behind your decisions. A little introspection is always a good thing.


Leave a Reply

